10 Lines on Padma Vibhushan

On 2nd January 1954, the immediate Government of India proposed two civilian awards. One of them was Bharat Ratna, the most prestigious civilian award, and the other one was the Padma Awards. The Padma Award is not an individual but a combination of three awards. The three Padma awards are Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan and Padma Sri. Among the three, Padma Vibhushan is the most prominent one and attains the 1st rank in Padma Awards. It is also the second-highest Civilian Award in India after Bharat Ratna.

Ten Lines on Padma Vibhushan

Set 1

1) The Padma Vibhushan is the highest Padma Award and the second-highest civilian award in India.

2) The nominations for the Padma Vibhushan awards are made by the president of India on the Republic Day of India.

3) It is worth mentioning that the Padma Vibhushan has been conferred to a total of 307 people till 2019.

4) The Padma Vibhushan has also been through suspension two times and the duration of suspension was more than five years including both suspensions.

5) The Padma Vibhushan consists of a circular medallion of Bronze in the middle of which a flower of the lotus is carved and the word ‘Padma’ and ‘Vibhushan’ are written separately in Devanagari script on the top and bottom of the Lotus respectively.

6) The Padma Vibhushan is granted for delivering a prominent and unusual service.

7) Every individual can be honored with Padma Vibhushan despite his gender, color, category or any other difference.

8) The recommendations for the Padma Vibhusan are presented by all State governments as well as Union Territory governments, previous Padma Vibhushan and Bharat Ratna awardees, Chief –Ministers, Governors and other Ministers of the States.

9) The award is endowed in many fields like Arts, Science, Literature, Social-work, Medicines, and Public-affairs, etc.

10) The conferee of Padma Vibhushan is not assisted with any form of monetary allowance.

Set – 2

1) Padma Vibhushan is stated as the highest award among the Padma Awards.

2) It is ranked after the Bharat Ratna Award of India.

3) It was introduced on 2nd January 1954.

4) It is awarded for exceptional and distinguished service.

5) This award can be given to people for their achievement in any field.

6) The people working in Public sector undertakings are not eligible for this award.

7) The Padma Awards Committee makes a proposal for the distribution of Padma awards every year.

8) These awards are given every year by the President of India.

9) The people can easily fill the nomination process.

10) They can also do self-nomination for the award.

Set – 3

1) Padma Vibhushan is also referred to as the Lotus decoration award.

2) It is regarded as the second-highest civilian award of India.

3) The award is a medal that is put up by a ribbon.

4) The front side of the medal has lotus carved in the middle.

5) Padma in Devanagari script is written above the design of lotus.

6) The lower edge has Vibhushan written on it in Devanagari script.

7) This award has been conferred on 7 people in the year 2021.

8) The recommendation for the Padma Vibhushan award is done by Padma Award Committee.

9) The selected names are finally approved by the Prime Minister and President of India.

10) The award is given to the people on Republic day.

Set 4

1) The Padma Vibhushan Award is distributed to the people according to their recommendations which are represented in the Padma Award Committee.

2) The Padma Award Committee is constituted by the Prime-Minister and is headed by the Cabinet Secretary of India.

3) Generally, Padma Vibhushan Award is not conferred posthumously but can be conferred if the candidate greatly justifies it.

4) The first awardees of Padma Vibhushan were Zakir Hussain, Nandlal Bose, Jigme Dorji Wangchuck, Satyendra Nath Bose, Balasaheb Gangadhar Kher, and V.K. Krishna Menon.

5) Padma Vibhushan is the first of the three parts of Padma Awards and so it is called “Pahla Varg”.

6) The honouree of Padma Vibhushan gets a Medal of bronze and a Sanad or certificate signed by the President of India.

7) The Padma Awards were first suspended from 1978 to 1979 and again from 1993 to 1997 for two times.

8) Padma Award’s distribution ceremony is held in the month of March and April.

9) The awardees cannot use the name of the award as his/her title or with his/her name.

10) One who misuses the Award or its name will have to give up his/her award.

Thus we can say that Padma Vibhushan is not just an award but it is a sign of excellence and true dedication towards your work. Being awarded Padma Vibhushan is not less than being best among all. A huge number of recommendations for this award are made every year but very few of them are selected who actually deserve it. Teejan Bai, Ismail Omar Guelleh, Balwant Moreshwar Purandare, and Anil Manibhai Naik are awarded Padma Vibhushan in 2019.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *