10 Lines on Padma Shri Award

Padma Shri is a prestigious Indian civilian award. It is an important part of Padma Award which is a combination of three awards. These are Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri in the order of ranking. It is the 4th highest civilian award and also the 3rd highest Padma Award in India. Padma Shri has its own value and specifications that serve its awardees fairly. The Padma Shri is awarded by the Government of India.

Ten Lines on Padma Shri Award

Set 1

1) Padma Shri is regarded as the fourth highest civilian award in India.

2) It is ranked after Bharat Ratna, Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan awards.

3) The award came into existence in the year 1954.

4) It is awarded to people for their special contribution in different fields.

5) The award has also been for some foreigners for their esteemed work for the nation.

6) Every year this award is declared on Republic day.

7) The Padma Shri award is distributed by the President of India.

8) An online platform has been devised for the nomination of candidates for this award.

9) This has facilitated the common people of India in proposing their choices.

10) Padma Shri award has been awarded to 3225 people till 2021.

Set 2

1) Padma Shri is the third-highest award among Padma awards.

2) It is also called as Padma Shree award.

3) The award is categorized as the National civilian award.

4) The award was introduced in India 67 years ago.

5) The award is consists of a platinum medal hanged with a ribbon.

6) The image of the lotus flower is carved on the front side of the medal.

7) Padma in Devanagari script is written above the flower.

8) The word ‘Shri’ is written below the lotus flower on the medal.

9) The medal contains the National Emblem of India on its reverse side.

10) The text ‘Satyameva Jayate’ in the Devanagari script is also written on it.

Set 3

1) Padma Awards subsequently Padma Shri came into force from 2nd January 1954.

2) Padma Shri is the 4th highest civilian award in India.

3) The Government of India presents this award on 26th January (The Republic Day of India).

4) An award ceremony programme is held on the date of distribution as the celebration for recognition.

5) The Padma Shri Award is conferred for notable work in the various fields such as education, sports, arts, industry, literature, science, public affairs, social services etc.

6) Not only Indians but also foreigners are awarded it for their distinguished work in different ways for India.

7) Padma Shri award bestows its owner with a certificate signed by the President of India and a medallion.

8) A Committee, namely Padma Awards Committee, regulates the whole procedure of this Award system.

9) For Padma Shri Award, the recommendations are submitted to the Padma Award Committee.

10) The Padma Award Committee sends the list of deserving candidates to the Prime-Minister and to The President of India for further approval.

We are presenting another set of 10 points on Padma Shri. These points will help you to gain some extra information about this award. We have tried to share more interesting details of this award system that were not discussed above. Inclusion of remaining important facts and knowledge was the main goal behind preparing it.

Set 4

1) Padma Shri is awarded for unusual work towards the nation regardless of one’s caste, religion, gender, occupation, colour etc.

2) The Government of India has created an online platform for an Indian citizen to suggest the names of their own choice for Padma Shri.

3) Padma Shri has been awarded to a number of 2840 people till 2019 since the date of institution.

4) Like other national civilian awards, Padma Shri also does not award cash allowance, concession in travel ticket or any other kind of benefit associated with it.

5) The President of India holds the right to declare it invalid if he finds it being misused by its recipient.

6) The ceremonial function for the distribution of Padma Shri Award is held at Rashtrapati Bhavan, New Delhi.

7) The front of side circular bronze medallion of Padma Shri contains a lotus flower embossed in the centre with ‘The Padma’ written at its top and ‘Shri’ at the bottom in Devanagari Script.

8) The Indian National Emblem embossed on the backside of the medallion adds a feel of elegance to the medallion and its owner as well.

9) Generally, Padma Shri has no provision of awarding the owner posthumously but it was awarded in some highly deserving cases.

10) The Padma Shri was suspended for two times, first for 1978, 1979 and again from 1993 to 1997.

The name ‘Padma Shri’ is made up of two words ‘Padma’ and ‘Shri’ which are originated from the Sanskrit Language. The word ‘Padma’ refers to the Hindu goddess ‘Laksmi’ and also river ‘Ganga’ while the word ‘Shri’ in Sanskrit is a symbol of respect. The Padma Shri is generally distributed every year but it is not compulsory. Padma Shri may be called as the sign of deep respect for its owner.

It also has happened a few times when the honouree has forfeited his award because of some reasons but it does not defame its image. Padma Shri is one of the most important awards in India and as a citizen of this great nation; it is our duty to have, not less than, some basic knowledge of Padma Shri and also other Indian Civilian Awards as well.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *