10 Lines on Citizenship Amendment Act

Citizenship Amendment Act is related to the Indian Constitution and is popularly called ‘CAA’. The act is also known as CAB or Citizenship Amendment Bill and it is a historic step by the Government of India. It is the matter at present on which debates are going on National and also on the International level.

Ten Lines on Citizenship Amendment Act

Set 1

1) Citizenship Amendment Act is related to the citizenship of illegal immigrants in India.

2) The Bill was passed by Lok Sabha on 9th December 2019 while it was passed in Rajya Sabha on 11 December 2019.

3) The Citizenship Amendment Bill was approved by the Hon’ble President of India, Sri Ramnath Kovind on 12th December 2019.

4) The act is for the Indian citizenship of people of 6 specific communities coming from the 3 Islamic countries neighboring India.

5) The 6 communities from different countries to be provided citizenship are Hindus, Sikhs, Christians, Parsi, Buddhists, and Jains.

6) The three neighboring countries of India under CAA are Afghanistan, Bangladesh, and Pakistan.

7) The citizenship will be provided to only those who have arrived in India before 31st December 2014.

8) The people who don’t belong to the 6 communities mentioned above will not be granted citizenship.

9) Some areas in North-East of India are exempted from the Act.

10) People from the Islamic community are not included in the Citizenship Amendment Act.

The ten lines on the Citizenship Amendment Act are helpful for the students to write an article or deliver a speech on the topic. These 10 lines will provide you all the relevant information about the topic so read the points carefully. Perhaps it would be a matter of fun for you.

Set 2

1) Citizenship Amendment Act is an amendment in the Citizenship Act of 1955.

2) The Citizenship Amendment Bill was also presented in the Indian Parliament on 19th July 2016.

3) The original Citizenship Law did not consider the religious affiliation for the citizenship.

4) According to the latest amendment, the nominee should be staying in India during the last six years.

5) Also, the duration of residing in India in the latest amendment has been reduced from 12 years to five years.

6) The Act is not applicable to the tribal areas of Assam, Meghalaya, Mizoram, and Tripura.

7) The migrants of the listed communities even without valid passport and visa will not be considered illegal immigrants in the Act.

8) An individual who wants to be a citizen of India would have to register for it.

9) This act is also not applicable in the Inner Line Permit under the Bengal Eastern Frontier Regulation, 1873.

10) Critics claim that the Citizenship Amendment Act in a violation of Article 14 (right to equality).

Although the Act is not about snatching the citizenship from any of those who are already residing in India for many years yet the Act is being criticized by people in a large number and especially in the North-eastern States. There may be many reasons behind opposing the regulation of the Act but actually the Act is for the better future of India.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *