10 Lines on Chaitra Navratri

Chaitra Navratri is a Hindu festival which is mainly celebrated in the month of March or April. According to Hindu calendar, it is celebrated in the ‘Chaitra’ month. Navratri is celebrated mainly five times in a year viz, Chaitra, Shardiya, Magha, Aashaadha, Pausha Navratri.

Mainly two Navratri i.e. Chaitra and Sharadiya Navratri are primarily celebrated in India. Chaitra Navratri is dedicated to the worship of goddess Durga or the Aadi Shakti. Navratri can be expanded as ‘Nav’ means ‘Nine’ and ‘Ratri’ means ‘Night’. During the nine days of Navratri, goddess Durga is worshiped in nine different forms, during nine days. People also conduct various rituals to enlighten their spiritual energy during Chaitra Navratri as it is considered as very auspicious day.

Ten Lines on Chaitra Navratri in English

We have provided 10 lines, 5 lines, 20 lines, few lines and sentences on Chaitra Navratri in English for Class 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 and 6. You can add these lines in your essays and paragraphs writing in your exams as well as in the school competitions. It will help you to get knowledge about Chaitra Navratri and its related topics.

10 Lines on Chaitra Navratri

1) Chaitra Navratri is a Hindu festival which usually falls in either March or April month.

2) Chaitra Navratri is widely celebrated in West Bengal, Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, Jharkhand, Orissa etc.

3) In Sanskrit, ‘Nav’ means ‘Nine’ and ‘Ratri’ means ‘Nights’, so it is nine nights of celebration.

4) According to Hindu calendar, the festival of Chaitra Navratri falls in the month of ‘Chaitra’.

5) Each day of Navratri has its own significance and associated with a separate form of Durga.

6) Chaitra Navratri is the second most important Durga festival after ‘Shardiya Navratri’.

7) The first day of Navratri is called ‘Pratipada’ and last day is called as ‘Navami’.

8) Chaitra Navratri is performed to seek the blessings of Goddess Durga for prosperity.

9) During Chaitra Navratri, Durga temples are full with the devotees for blessings.

10) Chanting mantras, singing aarti, offering flowers, fruits, prasad, etc. are done by the devotees.

10 Lines and Sentences on Chaitra Navratri

1) Chaitra Navratri is a nine day Hindu festival which is the celebration of ‘Shakti’ or ‘the power’ celebrated in the month of Chaitra as per Hindu calendar.

2) Mainly there are two forms of Navratri which is widely celebrated, first is ‘Shardiya Navratri’ and second is ‘Chaitra Navratri’ in March-April.

3) Chaitra Navratri which is observed at the time of ‘Shukla Paksha’ of Chaitra is widely celebrated in northern and eastern parts of India.

4) The nine-day celebration of Chaitra Navratri marks the starting of Hindu New Year as per the luni-solar calendar.

5) During this time in Chaitra month, ‘Gudi Padwa’ is celebrated in Maharashtra and in Andhra Pradesh, Telangana and Karnataka, ‘Ugadi’ is celebrated.

6) Chaitra Navratri is a nine day festival which starts from ‘Pratipada’ and ends on ‘Ram Navami’, the birth day of Lord Ram.

7) During Chaitra Navratri, people clean their homes and temples, beautify them, and establish the idol or picture of Goddess Durga.

8) People, both men and women, offer prasad, flowers, light up the earthen lamp, burn incense sticks and chant mantras, slokas and sing aarti etc.

9) ‘Durga Saptashati’ a prime religious text dedicated to goddess Durga is recited in every household as well as in temples.

10) All the major pilgrimages and temples including the ‘51 Shaktipeethas’ become full with devotees of ‘Adi Shakti’ for offering prayers and seeking blessings.

5 Lines on Chaitra Navratri

1) It usually falls in March or April.

2) Hindu New Year begins with Chaitra Navratri.

3) It is celebrated for nine consecutive days.

4) Nine forms of Goddess Durga are worshipped.

5) Many people observe fasting for nine days.

20 Lines on Chaitra Navratri

1) Chaitra Navratri is also known as Vasant or Vasantik Navratri.

2) Lord Rama’s birthday falls on the last day of Chaitra Navratri; hence he is also called Rama Navratri.

3) This festival of worship of Goddess Durga started from 6th April 2019, which was completed with the festival of Ram Navami on 14th April 2019.

4) According to the Mythology, Hindu New Year is also considered to be the beginning on Chaitra Navratri.

5) The nine days of Chaitra Navratri are dedicated to the nine forms of Goddess Durga.

6) All rituals are performed just as Sharad Navratri.

7) While Chaitra Navratri is prevalent in northern India, it begins in Maharashtra as Gudi Padwa and in Andhra Pradesh and Karnataka under the name of Ugadi.

8) It is believed that during the Chaitra Navratri, Mother Durga herself came to the earth, so her worship results in the desired wish.

9) During Navratri, some devotees fast and pray for protection of health and prosperity.

10) Navratri is a period of introspection and purification and is traditionally an auspicious and religious time for starting new ventures.

11) Navratri is the time when infinite powers from the universe reach us in the form of energy.

12) Chaitra Navratri begins before the summer season and the nature undergoes a major climate change on this time.

13) It is popular belief that following a fast during Chaitra Navratri prepares the body for the upcoming summer season.

14) It starts from the first day of Chaitra Shukla Paksha and ends on Ramnavami.

15) At this time people perform specific rituals to receive spiritual energy.

16) According to Hindu epics and texts, Chaitra Navratri is the most important Navratri in which Goddess of power was worshiped.

17) According to the Ramayana, Lord Rama worshiped Goddess Durga in the month of Chaitra and killed Ravana.

18) For this reason, Chaitra Navratri is celebrated with pomp and show all across India, especially in the northern states.

19) Many devotees fast for nine days on Chaitra Navratri.

20) It is believed that if devotees worship Goddess Durga heartily will proceed to the path of salvation and attain salvation.

All of us are aware about Navratri and it is the main festival which is dedicated to Goddess Durga and her incarnations. People generally worship the nine forms of Goddess Durga which are known as ‘Nav Durga’. On the other hand some devotees also worship ‘Dus Mahavidya’, the ten fierce forms of Goddess Durga. During Navratri festivals, every devotee maintains proper decorum and discipline while worshiping Goddess Durga for peace and prosperity.

FAQs: Frequently Asked Questions on Chaitra Navratri

Q.1 What are the colors associated with Chaitra Navratri?

Ans. The colors associated with Chaitra Navratri are yellow, green, grey, orange, white, red, royal blue, pink, and purple.

Q.2 What are the foods that should be avoided during Chaitra Navratri?

Ans. During Chaitra Navratri, people generally abstain from consuming certain foods such as onion, garlic, and non-vegetarian food.

Q.3 What are the nine forms of Goddess Durga worshipped during Chaitra Navratri?

Ans. Shailputri, Brahmacharini, Skandamata, Kushmanda, Kalratri, Katyayani, Mahagauri, Chandraghanta and Siddhidatri are nine forms of Goddess Durga worshipped during Chaitra Navratri.

Q.4 What are the other names of Chaitra Navratri?

Ans. Chaitra Navratri is also known as Vasantha Navaratri.

Q.5 How many navratri are celebrated in India?

Ans. The Navratri festival is observed “Four Times” annually, namely during Sharad Navratri, Chaitra Navratri, Ashada Navratri, and Magh Navratri. Sharad Navratri, which is observed in the month of Ashwin (September or October), is the most popular Navratri.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *