10 Lines on Kaveri River

Kaveri is one of the major as well as sacred rivers of South India. It flows through Karnataka and Tamil Nadu. Kaveri River is the third largest river after Krishna and Godavari and the largest river of Tamil Nadu. It is considered as the lifeline of both the states. People are dependent on Kaveri River for irrigation and agriculture as well as the construction of dams and barrages helps in generating hydroelectricity and providing water for agriculture through various mediums.

Kaveri River originates from Karnataka and then enters into Tamil Nadu and from there it falls into Bay of Bengal making a rich and fertile delta region of the country which gives boost to the agriculture sector in the area and supports the livelihood of the people.

Ten Lines on Kaveri River in English

10 Lines on Kaveri River

1) Kaveri is one of the major and sacred rivers which flow into southern part of India.

2) It flows through Karnataka and Tamil Nadu and also referred as ‘Ponni’.

3) Kaveri is the third largest river after Krishna and Godavari rivers in south.

4) It originates from the foothills of Western Ghats located in Karnataka.

5) It generally flows into south and east through Karnataka and Tamil Nadu.

6) Kaveri River further flows into Deccan Plateau and gets emptied into the Bay of Bengal.

7) The length of Kaveri River is 805 km with the coverage area of 81,155 sq. km.

8) In Karnataka, Kaveri gets divided forming islands of Srirangapatnam and Sivanasamudra.

9) Kaveri River basin forms the Kaveri delta which is most fertile region of the country.

10) The tributaries of Kaveri River are Harangi, Hemavati, Lakshmana Tirtha, Amaravati etc.

10 Lines and Sentences on Kaveri River

1) Kaveri River emerges in southern India.

2) It is regarded as the third largest river in south India.

3) It traces its course through Karnataka and Tamil Nadu states of India.

4) Talakaveri in the Kodagu district of Karnataka is the originating pace of river Kaveri.

5) Kaveri River is 805 km in length.

6) The area of the drainage basin of the Kaveri River is 81155 square km.

7) Harangi, Hemavati, Shimsha, etc are the left tributaries of the river Kaveri.

8) Amaravati, Kabini, Bhavani, etc. are the right bank tributaries of river Kaveri.

9) Mysore, Srirangapatna, Thanjavur, etc districts of India lie along the bank of the Kaveri river.

10) Kaveri River empties into the Bay of Bengal.

10 Lines on Kaveri River

5 Lines on Kaveri River

1) It is among the major rivers in India.

2) It covers Karnataka and Tamil Nadu.

3) In some places it is called ‘Ponni’.

4) In the south, it is the third largest river.

5) It is the major Southern river.

20 Lines on Kaveri River

1) Kaveri is an important river in Karnataka.

2) It is stated as the largest river in Tamil Nadu.

3) It is also called as river Cauvery.

4) Kaveri is stated among the seven sacred rivers of India.

5) People of south India worship the river as Goddess Kaveriamma.

6) Srirangapatna and Shivanasamudra are two islands formed in the Deccan plateau by the river Kaveri.

7) The river water is utilized by people for household consumption and agriculture.

8) Krishna Raja Sagar Dam, Mettur Dam, Mayanur dam, etc. are the dams built on the Kaveri River.

9) These dams help in the production of hydroelectricity from the river water.

10) Gagana Chukki, Bhara Chukki, and Hogenakkal waterfalls on the river are famous waterfalls on river Kaveri.

11) Kaveri or Cauvery is a river which flows in the states of Karnataka and Tamil Nadu and is the largest river in Tamil Nadu which divides the state into north and south.

12) People here in South India consider Kaveri as a goddess and worship it as “Kaveri Amman”, especially in Tamil Nadu.

13) Kaveri River originates from Brahmhagiri Hills in Kodagu located in Karnataka from a place known as TalaKaveri meaning ‘Head of Kaveri’.

14) Kaveri River flows into south-eastern direction through the states of Karnataka and Tamil Nadu and flows into Eastern Ghats in the great falls.

15) Before falling into the Bay of Bengal in the south of Cuddalore in Tamil Nadu, Kaveri River divides into large number of distributaries forming wide deltas.

16) At Sivanasamudram, the Kaveri River further gets decreased up to the height of 98 m forming famous falls called “Gagan Chukki” and “Bara Chukki”.

17) The Kaveri River basin covers 3 states and a union territory viz, Tamil Nadu (48,356 sq. km), Karnataka (34,273 sq. km), Kerala (2886 sq. km) and Pondicherry (160 sq. km).

18) The ‘Torekadanahalli’ pump station gives 540 million litres of water per day from Kaveri River, to 100 km to Bangalore.

19) The hydroelectric plant constructed in 1902 to the left of Sivanasamudra falls on the Kaveri River was the first hydroelectric plant in Asia.

20) The ‘Krishna Raja Sagara Dam’ has the capacity of 49 tmcft and the ‘Mettur Dam’ which makes Stanley reservoir has the capacity of 93.4 tmcft.

According to the verdict of honourable Supreme Court of India on 16th February 2018, Karnataka will receive 284.75 tmcft, Kerala will get 30 tmcft, Tamil Nadu will get 404.25 tmcft and Pondicherry will get 7 tmcft of Kavery water and the rest 10 tmcft will be reserved for the environmental protection and 4 tmcft will be laid for the wastage into the sea. Cauvery Water Management Authority (CWMA) was set up 1st June 2018 to resolve the dispute.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *