Facts about National Flag of India

Each nation has its own flag, which represents the nation. A flag is something that not only tells about the history of a nation but also defines the present. Similarly, our national flag also has certain qualities and represents our rich traditional heritage as well as our culture. Indian flag represents the rich agricultural background as well as the sacrifice of soldiers in the fight for freedom. Our flag is a symbol of integrity and equality and the Ashoka Chakra within represents the path of Truth and Dharma. We have bought some interesting facts about our National Flag; hope you like them and will turn helpful in enhancing your knowledge.

All Important Facts about National Flag of India 

  • It was Pingali Venkayya from Andhra Pradesh, who designed our flag and was adopted on 22 July 1947.
  • Our recent flag is the 6th design because there were 5 more designs in action before.
  • The first flag was hoisted in the year 1906 and there were 3 colours like green on the top then yellow and red in the last, with some symbols on each strip.
  • The second flag was made in the year 1907 by Madame Cama. There were three colours in it. The first one was orange, then yellow and green in the last. There were some symbols on each strip and these colours were arranged horizontally.
  • The third flag was made in the year 1917 and was suggested by Annie Besant & Lokmanya Tilak. It was very first time seen during the Home Rule Movement. There were 9 strips of red and green colours alternatively. And some other symbols were also made on it.
  • The fourth flag was made by Pingali Venkayya on the request of Gandhiji. There were three colours white, green, and red in it and was hoisted in the year 1921.
  • The fifth flag was similar to the present one but there was a charkha instead of Ashok Chakra. It was hoisted in the year 1931.
  • Finally, in the year 22 July 1947, our national flag was adopted and was hoisted on the occasion of Independence Day on 15th August 1947.
  • There are three colours in our flag, as saffron on the top, then white and green followingly and there is an Ashoka Chakra in the middle. All the colours are arranged horizontally.
  • It is rectangular in shape and the ratio of its length and breadth is 3:2.
  • The saffron colour in our national flag stands for the sacrifice of our brave soldiers in the battle of freedom. It also motivates us to stay alert and protect our nation. Some philosophers also consider saffron as a colour of Hinduism, Buddhism and Jainism. 
  • The green colour shows the rich agricultural heritage of the nation. The green colour also represents Islam.
  • The white represents the path of Truth and Peace. It also represents Christianity.
Facts about National Flag of India
  • There is an Ashoka Chakra in the middle of white colour and there are 24 spokes in it representing the 24 hours of a day, as well as each of them, have different meaning as the first one represents Love, 2nd Courage, 3rd Patience, 4th Peacefulness, 5th Magnanimity, 6th Goodness, 7th Faithfulness, 8th Gentleness, 9th Selflessness, 10th Self-Control, 11th Self Sacrifice, 12th Truthfulness, 13th Righteousness, 14th Justice, 15th Mercy, 16th Gracefulness, 17th Humility, 18th Empathy, 19th Sympathy, 20th Spiritual Knowledge, 21st Moral Values, 22nd Spiritual Wisdom, 23rd The Fear of God and 24th Faith or Belief or Hope.
  • The Karnataka Khadi Gramodyoga Samyukta Sangha (KKGSS) is the only manufacturing unit of our national flag. It is situated in the Bengeri village of Dharwad district of Karnataka.
  • As per Flag Code of India, our flag can be made in 9 different sizes (all in the ratio 3:2).
  • It was Germany the first foreign country, where the Indian flag was hoisted for the first time by Bhikaji Cama.
  • It was 2002 when every citizen of India got the right of hoisting our national flag anywhere and anytime following certain rules prescribed.
  • Our National Flag is always made in Khadi if it is made for the purpose of hosting.
  • There are two types of Khadi used in our national flag. One is Khadi-bunting, which is used for making the body of the flag and the second one is Khadi-duck, which is used on the portion of the flag which holds the pole.
  • A flag must never touch the ground and not even water.
  • A flag should always be removed before sunset and should be hoisted after sunrise.
  • You cannot use the flag as a dress for your lower part of the body or as lingerie, curtains, handkerchiefs, etc.
  • The tallest flag of India is located at Indo Pak Atari Border in Amritsar. It is at the height of 360 feet and the dimension of the pole is 120×80 feet.
  • A person found misbehaving with the flag or not following the rules of Flag Code of India, can lead to the jail of 3 years or have to pay a certain amount of fine.

FAQs: Frequently Asked Questions

Q.1 When was the National Flag of India introduced?

Ans. On 22 August 1907, the flag of India was introduced.

Q.2 What is the shape of the Indian National Flag?

Ans. The shape of the Indian national flag is Rectangular.

Q.3 What does the Tricolor of the flag Denote?

Ans. Saffron color denotes courage, white color denotes peace, and green color denotes growth and progress.

Q.4 What is the National Flag of India commonly called?

Ans. The national flag of India is commonly called ‘Tiranga’; as the flag has three colors in it.