Meghalaya is the state located in north side of India. It is also known as “The Abode of Clouds”. Shillong is the capital of Meghalaya also called as “Scotland of the East”. Initially Meghalaya was under the state Assam, but on 21st January 1972 it was declared as the individual state and Khasi, Pnar and Garo as its district. Meghalaya State is bounded by Bangladesh, Myanmar and Sylhet. Population of Meghalaya is about 29.67 lakhs and literacy rate is increased up to 74.43% as per 2011 censes.

Initially, no strict laws and rules were made for education in Meghalaya so it has a less number of primary colleges. Christian Brothers of Ireland put foundation of First College in Shillong in 1924. At present, state has several engineering colleges for higher education which provides education for residents of Meghalaya and other states of India. Here is the list of colleges for diploma courses approved from AICTE:

Polytechnic Institutes in Meghalaya affiliated with AICTE:

PERMANENT ID Institute Name Region State
1-503732761 Jowai Polytechnic Eastern Meghalaya
1-10208791 Regional Institute Of Science And Technology Eastern Meghalaya
1-757826371 School Of Business Sciences Eastern Meghalaya
1-504869141 Shillong Polytechnic Eastern Meghalaya
1-464602391 St. Anthonyt's College, Shillong Eastern Meghalaya
1-504811141 Tura Polytechnic Eastern Meghalaya
1-1091407351 Mizoram Polytechnic Eastern Mizoram
1-27823541 Regional Institute Of Paramedical & Nursing Sciences Eastern Mizoram
1-1509181971 Women's Polytechnic, Aizawl Eastern Mizoram
1-1471259901 School Of Engineering And Technology Eastern Nagaland
1-1377009331 School Of Management Studies, Nagaland University Eastern Nagaland